



# Twentieth Darbari Seth Memorial Lecture on the occasion of Mr. Seth's Birth Centenary



24 August 2021

### **Background Note**

#### **About Darbari Seth Memorial Lecture**

The annual lecture series was initiated by The Energy and Resources Institute (TERI) in 2002 in the memory of the institute's visionary founder and noted technocrat-industrialist, Darbari S. Seth. Under his guidance, TERI saw a meteoric rise and emerged as one of the leading knowledge institutions in the field of sustainability and climate change.

#### Mr. Darbari Seth: The Man with the Midas Touch

Mr. Darbari Seth was a unique individual whose vision and drive earned him the title of 'the man with the Midas touch'. He was the builder of Tata Chemicals Limited. The Tata Chemicals plant is located in Mithapur, Gujarat - an extremely resource-poor region of the country. It was the genius of Mr Seth that conceptualized the process layout and design of this facility, using large quantities of sea water to produce chemicals that are of great value for several industrial activities in the country.

At some stage, he was the Chairman of 14 companies including outstanding performers such as Tata Chemicals of course, Tata Tea, Consolidated Coffee, Excel Industries, and Rallis India Limited, among others. As and when these companies were brought under his charge at various stages, he turned them around to generate record profits and reach peak levels of performance.

From transforming an arid land to create Gangotri at Mithpaur, Mr. Darbari inspired all around him through his distinguished persona to carve the path for a bright and sustainable future. A champion of energy conservation and environment preservation, Mr Seth in 1974 established TERI (The Tata Energy Research Institute) which was renamed as The Energy and Resources Institute in 2003. Under his chairmanship, TERI emerged as one of the world's pre-eminent think tanks and research institutions in the area of energy, climate change and sustainability.

#### Centenary Birth Anniversary Celebration on 24th August 2021

This year will mark 100<sup>th</sup> Birth Anniversary of Mr. Seth. To honour TERI's founder, like every year, the founder day will include a Presidential Address and Memorial Lecture. Apart from these two features, two prominent business leaders who knew Mr. Seth closely will also speak.

This year, the following luminaries will speak:

- Mr. Bhupender Yadav, Hon'ble Minister for Environment, Forest & Climate Change; and Hon'ble Minister for Labour & Employment (Presidential Address)
- Dr. Praveer Sinha, CEO & Managing Director, Tata Power Company Limited (Memorial Lecture)
- Mr. R K Krishna Kumar, Trustee, Tata Trusts (Centenary Special Address)
- Mr. G. Narayana, Chairman Emeritus, Excel Industries Limited (Centenary Special Address)

#### **Past Speakers**

Last year, the Presidential Address was delivered by Dr S Jaishankar, Union Minister for External Affairs and the 19th Darbari Seth Memorial Lecture was delivered by Mr. António Guterres, Secretary-General of the United Nations. Many eminent luminaries and stalwarts from India and abroad, including N R Narayana Murthy, Sam Pitroda, Anand G Mahindra, Mukesh D Ambani, Kiran Mazumdar-Shaw, Arvind Subramanian, and Fatih Birol, have delivered the lecture since its inception. A complete list of speakers from the past editions of Darbari Seth Memorial Lectures is listed in Annexure 1.

## Annexure 1: Past Speakers of Darbari Seth Memorial Lecture

Year	Presidential Address	Memorial Lecture
2020	Dr S Jaishankar Minister of External Affairs, Government of India	Mr Antonio Guterres Secretary General, United Nations
2019	Mr Rajiv Kumar, Vice Chairman, Niti Aayog	Prof. K Vijayaraghavan, Principal Scientific Adviser to the Government of India
2018	Mr. R K Singh- Minister of Power & Minister of New and Renewable Energy	Dr Fatih Birol, Executive Director, International Energy Agency
2017	Mr Suresh Prabhu, Minister of Railways	Dr Arvind Subramanian, Chief Economic Advisor to the Government of India
2016	Mr Jayant Sinha, Minister of Civil Aviation	Mr. R. Mukundan, Managing Director of Tata Chemicals
2015	Dr Chandan Mitra, Member of Parliament, Rajya Sabha	Mr Prem Shankar Jha on Climate Change is an Opportunity and not a Threat
2014	Najma Akbar Ali Heptulla, Member of Parliament, Rajya Sabha	Prof Siraj Hasan, Distinguished Professor & Former Director, Indian Institute of Astrophysics, Bangalore
2013	Dr.M. M Pallam Raju, Minister of Human Resource Development,	Mr S Ramadorai, Adviser to the Prime Minister, National Council on Skill Development
2012	Dr M Veerappa Moily, Minister for Corporate Affairs	Dr. Bhaskar Chatterjee, DG & CEO, IICA. Title: Sustainable futures: imperatives for managing the social agenda
2011	R K Pachauri, Director General, TERI	Dr Farooq Abdullah, Cabinet Minister, Ministry of New and Renewable Energy
2010	Mr Digvijay Singh, Former Chief Minister of Madhya Pradesh & General Secretary, All India Congress Committee	Mr Sunil Bharti Mittal, Founder and Chairman of Bharti Enterprises
2009	Mr Tejender Khanna, Lieutenant Governor for Delhi	Dr Naresh Trehan, Chairman & Managing Director Medanta - The Medicity
2008	Mr Sushil Kumar Shinde, Minister of Power	Dr Kiran Mazumdar-Shaw, Chairperson & Managing Director, Biocon Limited
2007	Mr Sushil Kumar Shinde, Minister of Power	Shri Mukesh Ambani, Chairman & Managing Director, Reliance Industries Limited
2006	Mr Kapil Sibal, Minister of Science & Technology and Earth Sciences	Shri Anand G Mahindra, Vice Chairman and Managing Director, Mahindra & Mahindra Ltd
2005	Dr Montek Singh Ahluwalia, Deputy Chairman, Planning Commission	Dr Sam Pitroda, Chairman, WorldTel Limited, UK and Chairperson, National Knowledge Commission, India
2004	Mr Kapil Sibal, Minister of Science & Technology and Ocean Development	Dr K Kasturirangan, Member of Parliament (Rajya Sabha) and former Chairman, Indian Space Research Organization
2003	Mr George Fernandes, Minister of Defence	Dr R Chidambaram, Principal Scientific Adviser to the Government of India and DAE - Homi Bhabha Professor
2002	Dr Murli Manohar Joshi, Minister of Human Resources, Science & Technology and Ocean Development	Mr N R Narayana Murthy, Chairman, Infosys Technologies Ltd